The Words and Pauses of Monsurat Ottun

22 Feb

I’ve been writing poetry ever since I can first remember.  It’s the one constant in my life.  In college, I accepted requests to read pieces at different events, even once performing at an open mic show for Def Poetry Jam artists.  However, I took a break from public displays but kept writing vigorously on my own.

My style has changed but the heart is still the same.

When Filmmaker Desi Foxe encouraged me to perform at Lizard Lounge in Boston, it was instructive and inspirational, especially being there with the acclaimed Jeff Robinson Trio playing in the background.

But Isis Storm has really put me out there.

Performing with the other artists, and as a feature, has brought me out of my shell and pushed me to continue to develop my performance skills and share more poetry with those interested in hearing it.  As I contemplate putting together a book of poetry, which I’ve been gently pushed to do for years, I will keep attending more and more events like Isis Storm that will help me develop my artistic self.

One Response to “The Words and Pauses of Monsurat Ottun”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. From Providence to Newport to Foxboro, MA: Another Week to Catch the Ladies of Isis Storm « Isis Storm - February 24, 2010

    […] about this event, see the Facebook event page here.  To learn more about Monsurat Ottun, click here or visit the Artists page of IsisStorm.com.  For more information about Partners in Health efforts […]

Leave a Reply

